Review: Tangled Threads by Jennifer Estep

Title: Tangled Threads
Author: Jennifer Estep
Series: Elemental Assassin, #4
Publisher: ROC
Release Date: April 26, 2011
Pages: 386
Rating: ★★★★★

But here I am. Gin Blanco, the semi-retired assassin known as the Spider. Hovering outside sexy businessman Owen Grayson’s front door like a nervous teenage girl. One thing I like about Owen: he doesn’t shy away from my past—or my present. And right now I have a bull’s-eye on my forehead.

Cold-blooded Fire elemental Mab Monroe has hired one of the smartest assassins in the business to trap me. Elektra LaFleur is skilled and efficient, with deadly electrical elemental magic as potent as my own Ice and Stone powers. Which means there’s a fifty-fifty chance one of us won’t survive this battle. I intend to kill LaFleur—or die trying—because Mab wants the assassin to take out my baby sister, Detective Bria Coolidge, too.

The only problem is, Bria has no idea I’m her long-lost sibling . . . or that I’m the murderer she’s been chasing through Ashland for weeks. And what Bria doesn’t know just might get us both dead. . . .

I have to say that I’m impressed. WEB OF LIES has exceeded my expectations this time around and I am looking forward to zipping through this series fast. I have come to love these characters even more except *cough*DonovanCaine*cough*, I didn’t think an assassins life could get anymore exciting, but boy, was I wrong.

Our heroine Gin is retired or at least she is trying to stay retired, but being The Spider, the best assassin out there has been calling for her to get that excitement back in her life. Gin has relaized it’s become quite boring being retired and being an assassin is the most exiting thing ever. After months and months she comes face to face with the man she wants, who doesn’t really want her, Donovan Caine.

“You’re running away because your morals are more important to you than anything else, including what you could have with me.”

Donovan Caine has gotten on my last nerve since book one and it hasn’t gotten any better. I honestly found Gin’s and Donovan’s relationship nothing but lust. Between Spider’s Bite and WEB OF LIES I did not see a real relationship because of they way he constantly treats her and the way he acts. I mean all he did was fuck her and went on his merry way and talk about how wrong she is all the time. I’m honestly sick of it.

“You turned your back on me at the mine because you were glad I was dead,” I said. “Because the choice to be with me had been taken out of your hands, and your precious morals were still intact. And then I popped up again, still alive. And you were right back to square one. That’s the real truth, isn’t it?”

The god honest truth of the matter is Donovan was a sorry excuse of a love interest and I am still trying to figure out why Gin wanted him. Like Gin said she always had to make the first move in their so-called relationship. But thankfully Gin can move onto better things now, meaning Owen Grayson.

Owen Grayson shrugged. “I don’t know what Detective Donovan Caine thinks or wants, but I consider him to be an enormous fool.” “Why’s that?” He stared at me. “Because he’s down there looking for Dawson, and I’m up here with you.”

Finally we have a new love interest and he is Owen Grayson. To be honest I would’ve taken anybody other than Donovan Caine. I swear it to god I would’ve. But Owen is more than I could’ve ever dreamed of. Okay, nothing has really happened with Gin and Owen yet. But he is cute, hot handsome, a total flirt and makes his intentions towards Gin very known to her. Oh, god. I can’t wait to get more of this hottie in the next book.

“I have to confess I was quite surprised when you strolled into the ballroom tonight,” Grayson began. “I hadn’t expected to see you here, especially not wearing that cheap blond wig.” “Don’t care for blondes, do you?” I sniped. “Sassy brunettes are more my style.” He grinned.

Other than the love interest drama we have Gin taking down another target that is doing bad rather than good in the world. And also there’s the fact that her dead foster father, Fletcher left her a mysrterious folder about who she was and what all went down the night her mother and sisters were murdered and Gin finds a huge secret that makes her question the now dead Fletcher Lane.

There was enough action in WEB OF LIES keep me on the edge of my seat and lot more flashbacks to Gin’s life when Fletcher Lane took her in off the streets and I am really looking foward to finding out more and more about what went down the night Gin’s family was murdered as well as what will become of her and the delicious, Owen Grayson.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Tangled Threads by Jennifer Estep

  1. mariya says:

    Test comment system 😉

Leave a Reply

