Review: Blood Rights by Kristen Painter


Title: Blood Rights
Author: Kristen Painter
Series: House of Comarré, #1
Publisher: Orbit
Release Date: October 1, 2011
Pages: 416
Rating:


Born into a life of secrets and service, Chrysabelle’s body bears the telltale marks of a comarré—a special race of humans bred to feed vampire nobility. When her patron is murdered, she becomes the prime suspect, which sends her running into the mortal world…and into the arms of Malkolm, an outcast vampire cursed to kill every being from whom he drinks.

Now Chrysabelle and Malkolm must work together to stop a plot to merge the mortal and supernatural worlds. If they fail, a chaos unlike anything anyone has ever seen will threaten to reign.


BLOOD RIGHTS is quite a different kind of vampire book, but it fell a bit flat for me. Starting out this book was quite fast paced and I was intrigued with it, but as I got farther into the book I was kind of tired of the characters. I wasn’t quite “wow-ed” by the characters and didn’t really care for them. And when I found that the heroine is on the run for a murder that she is the prime suspect of I was a bit disappointed. My first reaction was that’s it?

I found the idea of the Comarre quite interesting. I liked that it was different from a lot of other vampire series. Though the terminology was quite difficult to keep track of which I didn’t like to keep flipping through the back of the book in the beginning to find out what a work meant. And I didn’t really find the Commare’s as special as they are described.

I think this book can go both ways. You could either like it, kinda like it, or not like it, so I would give it go. This read like a historical novel to me in a way so that may be part of the reason I didn’t like it that much, something that I was very much not used to.


This entry was posted in urban fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Blood Rights by Kristen Painter

  1. Good honest review! I read this one awhile back as well, my review goes up Monday. I liked it. I thought it was different too like you said, and the terminology was a little confusing, but it interested me enough. Probably because I had a teeny tiny similar idea brewing in the back of my head and wanted to read this to make sure it wasn't exactly the same!! And it wasn't! But I liked some of the ideas behind it and will likely be reading the next two as well!

  2. I have this one in my TBR pile and was looking forward to it! I like historical reads so hopefully I'll enjoy. Thanks for the review!

  3. OH NO! 2 stars? That's disappointing, especially since this was a title I was really looking forward to. Thank you so much for the review and the heads up, Mariya!

  4. Emily says:

    I appreciate your honesty! I've read mixed things about this book and am interested in reading and deciding for myself. I will definitely keep your points in mind though.

  5. Great honest review. This cover makes me pause every time but it sounds like it isn't the read for me.

  6. J-9 says:

    I Had to come read your review on this book, the cover drew me in. I think that it is fantastic. I'm sorry to hear that the characters were not well developed, and this probably affected the overall story. Great Review, always nice to see people give honest reviewsCheersJ9Check Out My Blogoversary Event with Author Interviews and Giveaways at http://j9books.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

