Review: Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler


Title: Tempest Rising
Author: Nicole Peeler
Series: Jane True, #1
Publisher: Orbit Books
Release Date: October 27, 2009
Pages: 359
Rating:


Living in small town Rockabill, Maine, Jane True always knew she didn’t quite fit in with so-called normal society. During her nightly, clandestine swim in the freezing winter ocean, a grisly find leads Jane to startling revelations about her heritage: she is only half-human.

Now, Jane must enter a world filled with supernatural creatures alternatively terrifying, beautiful, and deadly- all of which perfectly describe her new “friend,” Ryu, a gorgeous and powerful vampire.

It is a world where nothing can be taken for granted: a dog can heal with a lick; spirits bag your groceries; and whatever you do, never-ever rub the genie’s lamp.

If you love Sookie Stackhouse, then you’ll want to dive into Nicole Peeler’s enchanting debut novel.


I am really not sure about Jane True. TEMPEST RISING started out a bit slow and then Jane finding out who/what she really is the book then begun to pick up again, and then we’re back to the “I’m bored” phase.

Usually what does it for me in a book is the characters and the plot and TEMPEST RISING failed in my account on both of them. I didn’t really like Jane that much because she didn’t really stand out compared to other series I have read. I didn’t see anything special about her.

We have the love interest Ryu and at first when he first appeared in this book I thought possibly I may like this guy. Opps. Spoke too soon. The attraction between Ryu and Jane was just lust in my opinion. I didn’t find Ryu as an actual love interest for her, just someone to dump all her baggage on.

I would have to say the only person that I saw as a love interest for Jane was Anyan. I loved him since the moment we met him in the book and I am thinking possibly in future books they could get together. I thought they were quite cute together though.

I was mainly bored throughout this book though so about continuing on with Jane True I am quite unsure at this point. There was something about the character that were not really that exciting and not really caring about what happens to them. If I do continue it will only be after I am done reading the books on my TBR shelf that I am excited/want to read.

.
This entry was posted in jane true, nicole peeler, urban fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

  1. Alexa says:

    I'm sorry you didn't like this one. I have this on my tbr pile and I hope that I like it. Thanks for the great review.

  2. Rain Maiden says:

    I also have this on my pile. I hope I can make it through it.

  3. Jade says:

    I'm sorry you didn't like this book. I have the series in my pile and now I'm hesitant to read them. Guess they'll be going down on the list. If you decide to read the rest I hope they get better for you.

  4. YES YES YES! totally agree! I am planning on giving the rest of the series a shot, but this one was kinda meh for me =(

Leave a Reply

