Review: Minder by Kate Kaynak


Title: Minder
Author: Kate Kaynak
Series: Ganzfield , #1
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: June 18, 2010
Pages: 249
Rating:


Sixteen-year-old Maddie Dunn is special, but she needs to figure out how to use her new abilities before somebody else gets hurt. Ganzfield is a secret training facility full of people like her, but it’s not exactly a nurturing place. Every social interaction carries the threat of mind-control. A stray thought can burn a building to the ground. And people’s nightmares don’t always stay in their own heads. But it’s still better than New Jersey–especially once she meets the man of her dreams…


MINDER reminds me of x-men goes to school to learn more about their powers, which is actually kind of cool. The beginning of MINDER was great. The book was really fast paced and I was amazed.

This book was really good, but the only thing was that I didn’t really connect to the characters that well, like by the end of the book I actually did not care that much what happened to the characters, but I thought that the plot of the story was really action packed in way that I may just want to check out the next book.

I really liked at the house the tension between minders and charms. I liked how Maddie would not take any crap from them and was able to find a way to beat them at their own game. She has sort of become their savior.

I wasn’t very convinced by the romance in the story between Maddie and Trevor because it was like they first looked at each other and they fell in love. I don’t know about everyone else, but I would’ve liked a little more development between this romance. I believe in love at first site, but love at first site has a story to it, not just look at him and OMG. you are the one, and he is like, OMG. You are the one. I thought this could’ve been done a bit better.

MINDER was good for a first book in a series and I think the other books really have the potential to become a series that needs to be read. I mean how cool is it to read about about a kids who have these mind powers that go to school to learn how to control it.

This entry was posted in ganzfield, kate kaynak, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Minder by Kate Kaynak

  1. Great review! I really enjoyed this one! You made some great points! =D

Leave a Reply

