Review: Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck



Title: Tiger’s Curse

Author: Colleen Houck

Series: The Tiger Saga , #1

Publisher: Splinter

Release Date: January 11, 2011

Pages: 448

Rating:



Passion. Fate. Loyalty.

Would you risk it all to change your destiny?

The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she’d be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year-old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world. But that’s exactly what happened. Face-to-face with dark forces, spellbinding magic, and mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever.



This book interested me for several reasons, the cover is beautiful, the description captivated me, I mean something about a prince being cursed and a girl being the one to break the curse interested me on deep levels, and how much I heard that the romance is a beautiful part of the story, but this book was just okay for me.

The beginning started out really good and urged me to go on and on. I think it was about where we are in India where I kept fighting with myself to keep reading on until I got to the end. It was very hard for me to keep reading.

Before I started reading I was somewhat of a manga fan. What does this have to do with the review? I found similarities between the book and manga that I have read that I just couldn’t let go. We are told Indian Prince, Travel top India, India Myths. In my head every time the word India/n was used I kept thinking of Chinese myths, Chinese Prince. And it was the names of the characters that made me think this. I have taken Japanese and I could break down there names and think that is so a Japanese name. I just thought of everything Asian and it drove me mad.

I had trouble with the mythology/research. It just wasn’t interesting enough to keep me reading. I became more concerned with the scenes of our heroine and hero instead. I even found myself skimming part of the time.

What I did like was the concept of the story, like I said at the beginning of my review. An Indian Prince being cursed and finding a special girl who would be able to break the curse and set him free, and of course the prince falling in love.

I loved the characters of this book, that is what kept me going. Our heroine Kelsy is 18 years old and her love our hero, Ren is beautiful. She is unafraid of a tiger that could attack and kill her and she is so devoted to Ren, even after she finds out that he is actually an Indian prince, she wants to help him be free again. One thing I didn’t like was that even though you can see that Ren is completely and 100% madly in love with Kelsy she just cannot believe it and it is kind of frustrating.

Ren is our hero and is completely to die for. I have loved him since the moment I met him and after spending some time with Kelsy for a while, while he is still a tiger you can see how much her adores her and I loved his devotion to the one he loves. I can’t help but fall for Ren.

“The fact is…I’m in love with you, and I have been for some time.” I sucked in a deep breath. He picked up my hand and played with my fingers. “I don’t want you to leave”

One little flaw with the characters was that Kelsy in 18 years old and Ren is 21 years old, yet Kelsy acts like a 13-14 year old and Ren like a 15-16 year old. I don’t see Ren 21 and Kelsy 18. I feel this way because this book is read like it is a story that you want to tell you children, like a Disney movie.

But even with all of that I still am considering reading the sequel, Tiger’s Quest because I enjoyed the romance way too much to pass up on the next book. I thought that Ren and Kelsy’s romance with written so well that I have come to love them as a couple. And plus with the ending, how could I not read the next book. I hope to like the next book better than the first.

This entry was posted in shifters, young adult. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

  1. MissA says:

    Hmm I still can't get past the whole tiger in love with a human thing. haha. I'm so myopic at times but I'm trying to get past it because the Indian mythology fascinates me and Ren does sound really sweet.Good review 🙂

Leave a Reply

